thumb kevindevine

Since early 2015, Kevin Devine has been unveiling his Devinyl Splits Series, a six-7" series featuring Devine teaming up with a different partner every release. So far, the series has included Devine and Matthew Caws of Nada Surf covering each other's songs, Devine and Meredith Graves of Perfect Pussy each recording an intimate original song (the first solo song ever released from Graves), Devine and Tigers Jaw each taking on a song by The Cure, Kevin Devine & The Goddamn Band releasing their first new song since Bubblegum, while Cymbals Eat Guitars released their first new song since Lose on Devinyl Splits No. 4, and Devine and Owen each contributing a beautiful acoustic original on Devinyl Splits No. 5. The final split featured Jesse Lacey of Brand New, with both artists covering R.E.M songs. All six performers appeared at the unique & sold-out Devinyl Splits performances Devinyl curated in December in Brooklyn, Philadelphia, and Boston.

All six splits are now available to purchase together as the digital compilation Devinyl Splits Vol. I. All of the splits can also be purchased individually on vinyl via Bad Timing Records.

Devinyl Splits Vol. I tracklisting:

1. Matthew Caws - Fiscal Cliff (Kevin Devine cover)
2. Kevin Devine - Inside Of Love (Nada Surf cover)
3. Meredith Graves - Took The Ghost To The Movies
4. Kevin Devine - Gießen
5. Tigers Jaw - In Between Days (The Cure cover)
6. Kevin Devine - Love Song (The Cure cover)
7. Cymbals Eat Guitars - Aerobed
8. Kevin Devine & The Goddamn Band - Magic Magnet
9. Owen - Critical Condition
10. Kevin Devine - No One Says You Have To
11. Jesse Lacey - Bad Day (R.E.M. cover)
12. Kevin Devine - Imitation Of Life (R.E.M. cover)

Kevin Devine Tour Dates:

05/14 - Seattle, WA - The Crocodile^
05/15 - Portland, OR - Misssissippi Studios^
05/17 - San Francisco, CA - Slim's^
05/18 - Santa Ana, CA - Constellation Room^
05/19 - San Diego, CA - The Irenic^
05/20 - Los Angeles, CA - Troubadour^
05/21 - Phoenix, AZ - Crescent Ballroom^
05/28 - Howell, MI - Bled Fest

^ w/ Andy Hull

Brooklyn singer-songwriter Kevin Devine is a powerhouse in the contemporary indie rock world. Devine began releasing solo records in 2002, slowly gaining steam through extensive touring and a steady release of increasingly impressive records. In 2009, Devine released Brother's Blood and the I Could Be With Anyone EP through Favorite Gentlemen Recordings. The records quickly sparked across the scene as Devine became a cult favorite in the indie-rock world. His sharp lyrical style combined with 90s inspired bedroom indie rock connected instantly with fans, leading Brother's Blood to become Devine's best selling record to date.

After releasing three consecutive Billboard-200 charting records with 2011's Between The Concrete And The Clouds and the first two Bad Books albums (Devine's band with members of Manchester Orchestra), Devine looked to the crowd sourcing website Kickstarter to fund his next two records Bubblegum and Bulldozer. His fans responded - Devine met his $50,000 target funding within only 8 hours of the 45-day campaign, and ultimately fans pitched in to the tune of $115,000, more than double his initial goal. The funds resulted in the simultaneous October 2013 release of Bulldozer, produced by Rob Schnapf (Elliott Smith, Beck and Guided By Voices) and laced with folk-rock and pop ballads, and Bubblegum, a proper rock record produced by Jesse Lacey of Brand New, hooky and fast and wrapped in fuzz & feedback. The two records were Devine's highest-charting Billboard releases to date.

In 2014, Bad Timing Records, Devinyl Records and Favorite Gentlemen Recordings began their partnership with the release of a double A-side 7" single, featuring the song "She Can See Me”, which appeared in different versions on both Bulldozer and Bubblegum. The three teamed up in 2015 to re-release Devine's classic record Brother's Blood as a double LP, before announcing a year long split 7" series: Devinyl Splits began releasing every two months throughout the year, starting in February of 2015, and continuing through March of 2016. The splits featured Matthew Cawes (of Nada Surf), Meredith Graves (of Perfect Pussy), Tigers Jaw, Cymbals Eat Guitars, Owen (Mike Kinsella, also of American Football, Owls and Cap n' Jazz), and Jesse Lacey of Brand New.

Kevin Devine has been working on his ninth record, which will be released in 2016.

support us button