Beacon will release their third EP, L1 tomorrow on Ghostly International, and the record can be streamed in its entirety now via Huffington Post, who write the album is "a medley of minimal, hard-hitting beats and vaporous R&B that is as balancing as it is frantic."

Stereogum recently premiered the title-track from the album and noted, "it marks a fascinating progression for the duo: Whereas they once traded in space-age R&B with Rhye's gentleness inhabiting lush digital pastures, "L1" is smartly arranged electro-pop with a fervent tempo and an angsty undercurrent, like a brighter, more populist take on Thom Yorke's dreary Tomorrow's Modern Boxes."

Listen to "L1" via Stereogum

The band will set off on a North American tour this winter, kicking off January 22nd in Portland and wrapping up February 20th in Philadelphia. All tour dates can be found below.

Tour Dates

01.22 Portland, OR @ HOLOCENE
01.23 Seattle, WA @ BARBOZA
01.24 Vancouver, BC @ ELECTRIC OWL
01.25 Spokane, WA @ The Bartlett
01.28 San Francisco, CA @ RICKSHAW STOP
01.30 Los Angeles, CA @ THE ECHO
01.31 San Diego, CA @ CASBAH
02.12 Allston, MA @ GREAT SCOTT
02.14 Brooklyn, NY @ BABY'S ALL RIGHT
02.19 Washington, DC @ DC9
02.20.14 Philadelphia, PA @ BOOT & SADDLE

For much of the Brooklyn duo's career, Beacon has worked with a kind of effervescent, forward-looking R&B that evokes out-of-body experiences, but with their new L1 EP, the music is anchored assuredly to your flesh, bone, and physical senses. The brawny synth timbres which open lead track "Fault Lines" and the stomping beats bolstering gauzy falsettos on confident songs like "Minor Structures" set the tone for a new phase in Beacon's evolution, one geared toward the movements and magnetism of human bodies. As producer Jacob Gossett puts it, "Our records have often been described as moments after the night has given way, a 'comedown after the club.' Hopefully, this record inspires people to go back out for one more."

Mixed by Al Carlson-who has worked on Autre Ne Veut's Anxiety and St. Vincent's Marry Me, among many other notable records- L1's five tracks focus on themes provided by a natural phenomenon in gravitational physics known as Lagrangian points. The title itself refers to the point in space where a satellite can fall in synchronous orbit with the earth around the sun, caught between the two gravitational pulls and never falling out of sync. With a breathy voice that sounds as vulnerable as it does touchingly sanguine, singer and producer Thomas Mullarney III translates the idea to nuanced musings on internal conflict, human relationships, and questions about desire, guilt, and pleasure. "I wanted to stage intimacy and desire as natural forces," explains Mullarney, "spinning with reflex and intuition, caught within different spheres of influence."

L1 Tracklisting

01.Fault Lines
02. L1
03. Minor Structures
04. Better Love
05. Only Us


support us button