thumb pugwashsquare

With 2014’s A Rose in a Garden of Weeds compilation, Ireland’s Pugwash had its first-ever worldwide release. Pop fans around the world rejoiced, as earlier albums were only available as expensive imports. Its success brought about two tours of the U.S., as well as a recently completed U.K. leg, helping Pugwash expand an already rabid and devoted fan base. The timing could not be more perfect for the follow-up to their 2011 Choice Music Prize-nominated The Olympus Sound.

Play This Intimately (As If Among Friends) is the highly anticipated, new studio release from Pugwash, its first in four years. The album, set for September 4, 2015 release on Omnivore Recordings, will be packaged in a digipak with lyrics and photos, Play This Intimately will also be available on vinyl (translucent red for the first, limited-edition pressing) with a download card.

Recorded at Konk Studios (founded by the Kinks), and engineered and mixed by Guy Massey (the Beatles reissues mastering engineer), Play This Intimately contains 12 new tracks that demonstrate the songwriting genius, range in styles and brilliant musicianship their fans have come to know and love from Thomas Walsh (vocals, guitar), Tosh Flood (guitar), Shaun McGee (bass) and Joe Fitzgerald (drums). While their previous albums have featured guest appearance from friends like Ben Folds, Dave Gregory (XTC), Jason Falkner (Jellyfish), and more — this release boasts an impressive pedigree of contributors including Ray Davies (the Kinks), Andy Partridge (XTC), Neil Hannon (The Divine Comedy and Walsh’s partner in the Duckworth Lewis Method), and even a “shout” from Jeff Lynne of ELO — long a major influence on Pugwash.

Pugwash will return to the U.S. in late August to begin a tour that will find the band charting new territory, visiting cities and fans they’ve not been able to meet yet. Those already hip to and devoted to Pugwash will adore Play This Intimately (As If Among Friends). Newcomers just catching the buzz, will join the resounding chorus and want to share Pugwash’s music and live experience with friends.

And while Pugwash might be “playing intimately” to friends new and old, this new album is aimed squarely at playing loudly and to everyone all over the world.
According to Walsh: “I, we, us, them, those do solemnly swear to smile 24/8 every time we realize that we're releasing our first ever 'new' album with Omnivore Recordings on September 4th in the U.S of actual A..!! I still have to pinch my slabs of flesh to believe it. But you know . . .we're not half bad. Long live pop.”

Track Listing:
1. Kicking and Screaming
2. Lucky in Every Way
3. Feed His Heart With Coal
4. Just So You Know
5. Clouds
6. The Fool I Had Become
7. You Could Always Cry
8. Hung Myself Out to Dry
9. Silly Love
10. Oh Happy Days
11. All the Way From Love
12. We Are Everywhere

U.S. Tour Dates (subject to change):
Fri., Aug. 21 YAKIMA, WA Summer Sunsets in the Park
Mon., Aug. 24 SAN FRANCISCO, CA Elbo Room
Tues., Aug. 25 FELTON/SANTA CRUZ, CA Don Quixote’s
Thurs., Aug. 27 SAN DIEGO, CA Casbah
Fri., Aug. 28 LOS ANGELES, CA Molly Malone’s
Sat., Aug. 29 PHOENIX, AZ Tim Finnegan Irish Bar
Mon., Aug. 31 AUSTIN, TX Strange Brew
Thurs., Sept. 3 NASHVILLE, TN Springwater
Fri., Sept. 4 ASHEVILLE, NC Altamont Theater
Sun., Sept. 6 PHILADELPHIA, PA Tin Angel
Mon., Sept. 7 WASHINGTON DC House Concert
Wed., Sept. 9 BOSTON, MA The Lizard Lounge
Thurs. Sept. 10 ASBURY PARK, NJ The Saint
Fri., Sept. 11 HAMDEN, CT The Outer Space
Sat., Sept. 12 BROOKLYN, NY The Living Room
Sun., Sept. 13 PORTLAND, ME House Concert
Mon., Sept. 14 PORTLAND, ME One Longfellow Square
Tues., Sept. 15 NORTHAMPTON, MA The Iron Horse
Thurs., Sept. 17 EVANSTON/CHICAGO, IL 27 Live
Fri., Sept. 18 RACINE, WI McAuliffe’s Pub
Sat. Sept. 19 INDIANAPOLIS, IN The Warehouse
Sun., Sept 20 LEXINGTON, KY House Concert

support us button