thumb Andrew St James

Andrew St. James to play “Shakes in San Francisco” local residency throughout October, “The Shakes” arrives October 21st.

“He possesses remarkable lyricism and self-awareness.” – Interview

“We’re seriously looking for proof that St. James is only 18…” – Nylon

“Overflowing with clever lines and lyrical intricacies.” – American Songwriter

“This kid is headed for big things.” – USA Today

“Tapes” is the first single from The Shakes by Andrew St. James, out October 21st





“Shakes in San Francisco” featuring Andrew St. James live in San Francisco at Doc’s Lab

10/07 San Francisco, CA @ Doc’s Lab
10/14 San Francisco, CA @ Doc’s Lab LitQuake Festival
10/21 San Francisco, CA @ Doc’s Lab
10/28 San Francisco, CA @ Doc’s Lab, w/ 20 Minute Loop (TIX)


Check out a guide to Andrew St. James’ favorite San Francisco hangouts along with the premiere of “Tapes” at Culture Collide!

Incorporating a beyond-his-years lyrical vision, timeless songwriting skills, and a unique gift for melody-making, 19-year-old singer-songwriter Andrew St. James drew accolades from the press in 2013 upon the release of his debut album Doldrums, recorded when he was just 17-years-old.

Read more about Andrew St. James here: MTV, USA Today, Interview, Nylon, American Songwriter, SF Weekly, and Performer.

The San Francisco native is now about to leave his teens behind with the upcoming release of his sophomore effort The Shakes on October 21st. The new album is once again produced by St. James with Bay Area producer Jim Greer, a platinum record recipient for his work with Foster The People.

“Tapes,” an ethereal folk song with a haunting vocal, is the first single from The Shakes. Referring to the recurring theme of “the chapel” within the song (“For the chapel I see in you”), St. James explains that in addition to being a metaphor, the chapel is actually a real place.

“It’s a small, stained glass chapel that stands on the edge of the coastal forest, with a clear view of the Pacific Ocean,” he says. “Anyone who steps inside of it is consumed by silence. It has always been a place of peace, a place of solitude and simplicity. In a world where everything is sold, and nothing held sacred, this place is removed from it all.”

St. James will be performing songs from The Shakes live in his hometown throughout the month of October. Doc’s Lab, the former home of legendary comedy and music venue The Purple Onion, will host “Shakes in San Francisco” featuring St. James and a round robin of other musicians on October 7th, 14th, 21st. A record release event for The Shakes with special guests 20 Minute Loop will close out the residency on 28th.

The Shakes, the follow-up to the debut Andrew St. James album Doldrums, is scheduled for release on October 21st, 2014. The album’s first single “Tapes” is streaming now. 


Track Listing:

01. Rosebud

02. Nightmares Pt. 17

03. Tapes (STREAM | DOWNLOAD | MP3)

04. 5 Years

05. Despite All Good Intentions

06. Falling Up

07. Stageline

08. Allison

09. Hollow Soul

10. Cold War

11. Ghost


Andrew St. James Links


support us button